Why Are Fares Required in the Town of Gypsum?

Fare-free travel is funded by the new 0.5% sales tax being collected in the seven jurisdictions that voted in favor of forming the EVTA in November of 2022. These include Unincorporated Eagle County, towns of Avon, Eagle, Minturn, Red Cliff and Vail, and Beaver Creek Metro District, excluding Gypsum.

As Gypsum did not vote in favor of the half-penny sales tax, it does not contribute to funding the Fare-Free system. Consequently, fares remain necessary for public transportation within the town.

Please note that future changes to this policy may occur based on community decisions and developments.

If you have any questions, please email info@evta.org